Skip to main content

Siperstein Library: Shakespeare Research

ProQuest eLibrary

This is a great resource with thousands of research articles related to Shakespeare.

JSTOR

You're probably all familiar with JSTOR by now, but this is a great go-to for Shakespeare research.

User Guides

Use these guides to help navigate resources for the first time.

JSTOR A database that covers many subjects and fields of research. Useful for most of your research projects.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias Offers a peer-reviewed, in-depth summaries that cover a wide range of topics.
Evaluating Sources Using the CRAAP Test.
Primary vs. Secondary Sources Distinguishes between different types of sources. Provided courtesy of American University.
Search Terms How to pick the best keywords for a search.
Boolean Operators Use these to narrow or broaden your database search. 
Library Catalog Finding print resources in the library.

Library Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Plagiarism Reminders

Guide to Using the Library Catalog

Call Numbers

Anatomy of a Call Number
Read call #s alphanumerically  
Fiction Example
PZ7   L97967 Ban   2017
Subject of the Book     Author's Last Name            Title of the Book       Date of Publication     
Non-Fiction Example
TL 789.85 .K45 A3  2017
Subject of the Book     Author's Last Name            Title of the Book       Date of Publication     

Oxford Literature Handbook

This collection contains 75 volumes of literary criticism including several thousand scholarly reviewed articles.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias

A collection of research and encyclopedia articles covering a variety of subjects.

Shakespeare Online Resources

Citation Resources

Librarians: Ms. Hoffman and Mr. Reese