Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Siperstein Library: Christian Ethics

Christian Ethics

Welcome to the Christian Ethics guide!

A great place to start working on your final research project. Remember, you need to form and research an ethical question. Explore issues and form your question with the resources below:

Good Places to Start Exploring Issues

ProPublica

Propublica is a free, not for profit investigative newsroom that specializes in reporting about abuses of power in government and business. 

Ted-Ed

Ted-Ed is a YouTube channel of Ted Talks and more just for students and young people.

Crash Course

Crash Course is a series of educational videos on a wide variety of topics--a good place to explore issues!

Statistical Resources and more!

Here are some places to get quality statistical information:

Site Notes
Statista A large collection of international data and reports--start here for statistical research!
Pew Research Center Reliable statistics on a variety of topics, very strong on issues related to public opinions, trends and attitudes.
Data.gov

Datasets provided by the government on a wide variety of topics.

More free resources:

Name Notes
National Archives A collection of government documents that covers the entire history of the United States.
 National Archives Veterans and Military Records Covers a variety of wars and conflicts, lots of primary sources
Smithsonian Institute Collection Collection of primary source documents and images spanning the fields of art, history, technology, and more.
Library of Congress Collection A vast amount of digital resources, available to the public for free. Lots of primary sources.
National Security Archives at George Washington University Contains declassified government documents that have been digitized by the GW librarians.

Newspapers are excellent resources!

Don't forget--the Library offers several newspaper and magazine subscriptions that you can use for research, especially if you are researching a contemporary issue!

Source Details
New York Times Access by claiming your Digital Pass here. Then you can log in with your Prep email--works for the NYT archive too!
Wall Street Journal

Username: wsj@spprep.org
Password: Marauder1

Sora Our one stop place for all of our magazine subscriptions. The Economist, Food Network Magazine, National Geographic, and Wired are just some examples.
 

 

What is an Ethical Question?

Courtesy of Mr. Prescia!

Christian Ethics Databases

 

Proquest Religion

ProQuest Religion Database provides you with access to scholarly articles related to a variety of religions including: Catholicism, Protestantism, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism and more. 

Gale in Context: Global Issues

Gale in Context Global Issues provides you with access to news articles, scholarly articles, images, videos, statistics and reference articles on a wide variety of subjects including: politics, economics, international relations, science, health, and ethics. 

Infobase: Issues and Controversies

Issues and Controversies provides you with access to overview videos, pro/con articles, debate videos, court cases, and instructional resources on a variety of contemporary controversies, primarily within the United States. 

 

Above the Noise

Above the noise is a YouTube channel published by KQED Northern California (a PBS station). Check out their videos about all kinds of hot-button issues, like the one below!