Skip to main content

Siperstein Library: Home

A to Z Databases

Distance Learning Updates
  • School Database Links and Logins - Make sure to be logged into your school account to access the linked document. This list can also be found on Canvas and has been shared with you via email. Reach out to the librarians with any questions or issues.

  • Check out our Library Canvas Course for research guides and lists of databases and resources for your research assignments.

  • While we may not have physical displays, check out our themed lists of reading recommendations on Canvas!

Library Info

Library Hours

Monday - Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM


Contact our Librarians

Mr. Reese: reesew@spprep.org 

Ms. Friedlander: friedlanders@spprep.org


BOOK MATCH

Looking for something to read, but don't know where to start? Fill out the BOOK MATCH form and Ms. Friedlander, a reading expert, will tailor a reading list based on your responses. A great way to find something new!


Request a book 

To request a book for the library, just complete the questions on the linked form and we will do our best to get it.


 eBook and eAudiobooks

To download books, search for the Axis 360 app in your APP store. Follow the link and use your Prep login information to check out books.


New Arrivals

Who Put This Song On?

"Seventeen-year-old Morgan is a black teen triumphantly figuring out her identity when her conservative town deems depression as a lack of faith, and blackness as something to be politely ignored"--Provided by publisher.

They Called Us Enemy

Actor, author, and activist George Takei recounts his childhood imprisoned within American concentration camps for Japanese Americans during World War II and the impact the experience had on his later life. - Publisher

Normal People: A novel

"At school Connell and Marianne pretend not to know each other. He's popular and well-adjusted, star of the school football team, while she is lonely, proud, and intensely private. But when Connell comes to pick his mother up from her job at Marianne's house, a strange and indelible connection grows between the two teenagers--one they are determined to conceal...And as she veers into self-destruction and he begins to search for meaning elsewhere, each must confront how far they are willing to go to save the other"--Publisher.

The Institute: a novel

"In the middle of the night . . . in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis's parents and load him into a black SUV . . . Luke will wake up at The Institute, in a room that looks just like his own, except there's no window. And outside his door are other doors, behind which are other kids with special talents--telekinesis and telepathy--who got to this place the same way Luke did."--Provided by publisher.

The Testaments

"Fifteen years after the events of the handmaid's tale, the theocratic regime of the republic of Gilead maintains its grip on power, but there are signs it is beginning to rot from within"--Jacket flap.

The Nickel Boys

"Follows the experiences of two African-American teenagers at an abusive reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida"--OCLC.

The Water Dancer: a novel

"Young Hiram Walker was born into bondage--and lost his mother and all memory of her when he was a child--but he is also gifted with a mysterious power. Hiram almost drowns when he crashes a carriage into a river, but is saved from the depths by a force he doesn't understand, a blue light that lifts him up and lands him a mile away. This strange brush with death forces a new urgency on Hiram's private rebellion...all Hiram wants is to return to the Walker Plantation to free the family he left behind--but to do so, he must first master his magical gift and reconstruct the story of his greatest loss"--Provided by publisher.

Harley Quinn: Breaking Glass

"With just five dollars and a knapsack to her name, fifteen-year-old Harleen Quinzel is sent to live in Gotham City. She's not worried, though--she's battled a lot of hard situations as a kid, and knows her determination and outspokenness will carry her through life in the most dangerous city in the world. Now Harleen is mad. In turning her anger into action, she is faced with two choices: Join activist Ivy, who's campaigning to make the neighborhood a better place to live, or team up with her anarchist friend Jack, who plans to take down Gotham one corporation at a time"--Publisher.

Over the Top: a raw journey to self-love

Television personality Jonathan Van Ness shares details about his life, covering his childhood, traumatic experiences, journey to self-acceptance, career, and more. - Publisher

Catch and Kill: Lies, Spies and a Conspiracy to Protect Predators

In a dramatic account of violence and espionage, Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter Ronan Farrow exposes serial abusers and a cabal of powerful interests hell-bent on covering up the truth, at any cost. (Amazon)

Patron Saints of Nothing

When seventeen-year-old Jay Reguero learns his Filipino cousin and former best friend, Jun, was murdered as part of President Duterte's war on drugs, he flies to the Philippines to learn more. - Publisher

Stony the Road : Reconstruction, white supremacy, and the rise of Jim Crow

"A . . . rendering of the struggle by African-Americans for equality after the Civil War and the violent counter-revolution that resubjugated them, as seen through the prism of the war of images and ideas that have left an enduring racist stain on the American mind"--Amazon.

Alphabet Squadron (Star Wars)

"The first novel in a new trilogy starring veteran New Republic pilots! On the verge of victory in a brutal war, five New Republic pilots transform from hunted to hunters in this . . . Star Wars adventure. Set after Return of the Jedi, Alphabet Squadron follows a unique team, each flying a different class of starfighter as they struggle to end their war once and for all. Part of a Marvel and Del Rey crossover event, Alphabet Squadron is the counterpart to Marvel's TIE Fighter miniseries, which follows the exploits of Shadow Wing as they scheme to thwart the New Republic"--Publisher's description.

Welcome Message

Welcome to St. Peter's Prep!

Mr. Reese and Ms. Friedlander are excited to welcome you to the Siperstein Library, located in the E Building. This versatile space serves as a hub of information, a place to study, and a quiet retreat perfect for reading. Check out our website and feel free to browse our collection. If you have any questions, reach out to us.

Recently Added eBooks and Audiobooks

The Name of the Wind

So begins a tale unequaled in fantasy literature—the story of a hero told in his own voice. It is a tale of sorrow, a tale of survival, a tale of one man’s search for meaning in his universe, and how that search, and the indomitable will that drove it, gave birth to a legend.

Red Rising

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Reds like him are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class. He will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies...

Salem's Lot

Ben Mears has returns to Jerusalem's Lot in the hopes that he can work through his inner demons. When people go missing, he realizes something supernatural is happening and people are not what they seem.

Miles Morales, Spider-Man

"Brooklyn Visions Academy student Miles Morales may not always want to be a super hero, but he must come to terms with his identity--and deal with a villainous teacher--as the new Spider Man."

A Game of Thrones

Lords and ladies, soldiers and sorcerers, and all the forces of good and evil prepare for trouble in the land of Winterfell where summers can last for decades and winters a lifetime.

After the Shot Drops

"Told from alternating perspectives, Bunny takes a basketball scholarship to an elite private school to help his family, leaving behind Nasir, his best friend, in their tough Philadelphia neighborhood"--Provided by publisher.

Long Way Down

As Will, fifteen, sets out to avenge his brother Shawn's fatal shooting, seven ghosts who knew Shawn board the elevator and reveal truths Will needs to know.

American War

This beautifully written premiere novel of Omar El Akkad tells the haunting story of the second American Civil War in a not-so distant future.

Digital Resources

Book Displays

Celebrate Black History Month With These Great Writers

ProQuest eLibrary

JSTOR

ABC-CLIO

User Guides

Use these guides to help navigate resources for the first time.

Accessible Archives Primary resources, used primarily for US History courses.
JSTOR A database that covers many subjects and fields of research. Useful for most of your research projects.
Rosen Teen Health and Wellness Offers up-to-date, non-judgemental, straightforward articles and self-help support.
Evaluating Sources Using the CRAAP Test.
Primary vs. Secondary Sources Distinguishes between different types of sources. Provided courtesy of American University.
Search Terms How to pick the best keywords for a search.
Boolean Operators Use these to narrow or broaden your database search. 
Axis 360 For using eBooks and eAudiobooks.
Library Catalog Finding print resources in the library.

Testing Prep

Ms. Friedlander

Sky Friedlander's picture
Sky Friedlander
Contact:
Warren and Grand Street, Jersey City NJ