Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Siperstein Library: Library Research Databases and Tutorials

Welcome to our library database collection and screencast tutorials

Welcome to our library databases libguide page. 

This will serve as a catalog of our main databases and the resources they can provide you. If you'd like to search ALL our databases, use the box below, or go to discovery.ebsco.com/c/5yyjmq/ and log in with Google. If you'd prefer to search one particular database, browse our offerings by subject on this page. Happy researching!

Multidisciplinary Databases

Jersey Clicks

JerseyCllicks provides you with access to a variety of databases that cover different subject areas such as, literature, science, and history.

ProQuest eLibrary

ProQuest elibrary provides you with access to newspaper and scholarly articles on a wide array of subjects.  ProQuest is particularly strong in the sciences. And check out their study guides on a variety of topics!

English and Literature Databases

Resources for the Humanities

JSTOR provides you with access to a wide array of scholarly articles on the subjects of history, literature, science, health and more.

JSTOR Understanding Shakespeare

The JSTOR Understanding Series is a specialized resource which allows you to access British and American literature and scholarly articles related to the content of such works. Some authors and works of note are: the works of Shakespeare, The U.S. Constitution, and the works of Edgar Allan Poe. 

Bloom's Literature

Bloom's Literature is a database that provides you with access to reference articles, criticism, images, and videos on a variety of the most read British and American writers, literary works, and characters.   

 

Science and Statistics Database Resources

Science Online

Science Online provides you with access to overview and reference articles, videos, diagrams, interactive experiments and more on a variety of scientific topics from biology and chemistry to forensic science, physics, and environmental science  

Today's Science

Today's Science provides you with access to overview and reference articles, news sources, science and scientist videos, and glossaries on a variety of contemporary scientific issues. 

Statista

Statista provides you with a wide array of statistical graphs and information on various issues and topics that span all subject areas. 

 

History and Law Databases

Infobase: American History

American History Database provides you with access to overview articles, primary sources, maps, videos, and timelines on a variety of subjects relating to American history from the colonial period to now. 

Infobase: African American History

African American History Database provides you with access to overview articles, primary sources, maps, videos, and timelines on subjects and issues relating to African American history from Africa, colonization, and the slave trade to now. 

Gale in Context: World History

Gale in Context provides you with access to scholarly articles, primary sources, news articles, videos, podcasts and more on a wide variety of subjects relating to World History from ancient to contemporary times. 

Internet History Sourcebooks

Internet History Sourcebooks through Fordham University provides you with access to articles and primary sources relating to ancient, medieval, and modern history. 

ABC-CLIO

ABC-CLIO provides you with a series of political, historical, and diverse cultural databases which are organized by time period and give you access to overview articles, reference articles, primary sources, and media. 

Asia for Educatiors

Asia for Educators is a resource from Columbia University that provides you with access to a variety of primary sources, timelines, maps, and videos on a variety of topics relating to Asia in world history. 

 

Journalism Databases

Sora

the Sora app provides you with access to a wide array of magazines including Wired, Booklist, Rolling Stone and more. They a variety of interests from the economy to politics to science and popular culture. 

The New York Times

All the news that's fit to print! 

Create an account here using your Prep email address.

 

Looking for articles from the 19th and 20th centuries? Here's a Direct link to Timesmachine, the NYT archive.

The Wall Street Journal

Access this venerable newspaper that's particularly strong in business and finance related news using these credentials:

Username: wsj@spprep.org

Password: Marauder1

 

Religion, Ethics, and Law Database Resources

 

Proquest Religion

ProQuest Religion Database provides you with access to scholarly articles related to a variety of religions including: Catholicism, Protestantism, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism and more. 

Gale in Context: Global Issues

Gale in Context Global Issues provides you with access to news articles, scholarly articles, images, videos, statistics and reference articles on a wide variety of subjects including: politics, economics, international relations, science, health, and ethics. 

Infobase: Issues and Controversies

Issues and Controversies provides you with access to overview videos, pro/con articles, debate videos, court cases, and instructional resources on a variety of contemporary controversies, primarily within the United States.