Use EBSCO Discovery Search to access almost ALL of our library databases in ONE place.
Prefer to go to individual databases. Check these out to find good sources for your history project.
 |
Oxford Reference is a GREAT place to START. Search general topics and people to get a good overview of a topic. |
 |
ABC-CLIO's Daily Life Through History provides reference sources and primary source documents on a variety of time periods in U.S History. |
 |
Infobase American History gives you access to encyclopedia entries, book chapters, and primary source documents on a variety of topics across American history. |
 |
JSTOR gives you access to peer reviewed scholarly research articles and primary source documents. JSTOR is a college-level digital library and is BEST used AFTER you have gained general knowledge from the sources mentioned above. |
 |
Newsbank is a great PRIMARY SOURCE database. It holds hundreds of newspapers from the United States starting from the 1600's and going up to 2000s. The first time you click the link it should prompt you to login with your Prep credentials. |
Create a Project Folder in NoodleTools to organize your resources, export and build citations, and make digital annotations.
 |
Step 1: Click on the image and then the Google icon to sign into NoodleTools using your PREP GMAIL account. Step 2: Click on + NEW PROJECT in the upper right hand corner to create a new folder. Name it, select MLA citation, and Junior or Senior Level Citation. Now you are ready to build citations OR export citations from library sources directly into your NoodleTools project folder and create digital annotations.
|
READ THIS to understand how to research with library databases
1. Library databases DON'T use Natural Language. You can't ask it and question or type in your thesis statement. Instead you have to simplify and input keywords and concepts instead.
2. Multiple keywords/Concepts MUST be separated by one of the Boolean Operators. These are AND, OR, NOT. They instruct the database to give you certain results.
Here is what Boolean Operators DO:
Keyword X AND Keyword Y = I want sources that mention BOTH keywords.
Keyword X OR keyword Y= I want sources that mention both keywords OR either keyword individually
Keyword x NOT keyword y = I only want sources that mention keyword x and none that have any mention of keyword y.
3. Library database search results are based on what you input into the search bar. If you are not getting results you want, try different keywords and/or concepts. Sometimes it's good to do some basic and preliminary searches with reference sources to get an overview of a topic first. This way you will have more keywords and concepts to write into your library database search bar.