Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias
Books by subject
Arab Historians of the Crusades by
Call Number: D 151 .G313 1989
Publication Date: 1984-06-18
The recapture of Jerusalem, the siege of the Acre, the fall of Tripoli, the effect in Baghdad of events in Syria; these and other happening were faithfully recorded by Arab historians during the two centuries of the Crusades. For the first time contemporary accounts of the fighting between Muslim and Christian have been translated into English, and the Western reader can learn 'the other side' of the Holy War. - Publisher
The Crusades: the authoritative history of the war for the Holy Land by
Call Number: D 157 .A83
Publication Date: 2010-03-09
Recounts the events surrounding the Crusades from the perspective of both Christians and Muslims, profiling influential figures on both sides of the battle and discussing how the holy wars influenced the medieval world.
God's War: a new history of the Crusades by
Call Number: D157 .T89 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-27
Provides a detailed history of the Crusades, covering their origins, prominent figures, the growth of militant Christianity, various political acts, and other related topics.
The First Crusade: a new history by
Call Number: D 161.2 .A77 2004
Publication Date: 2004-10-01
Presents a detailed account of the First Crusade beginning in 1095 under Pope Urban II and chronicles the trail of brutality and slaughter of thousands of Muslims and Jews in the name of Christianity culminating in the capture of Jerusalem in 1099 A.D.
A History of Japan by
Call Number: DS 835 .M36 1997
Publication Date: 1997-11-15
Newly revised and updated, A History of Japan is a single-volume, complete history of the nation of Japan. Starting in ancient Japan during its early pre-history period A History of Japan covers every important aspect of history and culture through feudal Japan to the post-cold War period and collapse of the Bubble Economy in the early 1990's. Recent findings shed additional light on the origins of Japanese civilization and the birth of Japanese culture.
Also included is an in-depth analysis of the Japanese religion, Japanese arts, Japanese culture and the Japanese People from the 6th century B.C.E. to the present. This contemporary classic, now updated and revised, continues to be an essential text in Japanese studies. Classic illustrations and unique pictures are dispersed throughout the book. - Publisher
1493: uncovering the new world Columbus created by
Call Number: D 228 .M36
Publication Date: 2012-07-24
Presents research by ecologist, anthropologists, archaeologists, and historians to show how the formation of a global network of ecological and economic exchange fostered the rise in Europe, devastated imperial China, disrupted Africa, and made Mexico City the center of the world.
China: a history by
Call Number: DS 735 .K398 2009
Publication Date: 2011-12-06
Many nations define themselves in terms of territory or people; China defines itself in terms of history. Taking into account the country's unrivaled, voluminous tradition of history writing, John Keay has composed a vital and illuminating overview of the nation's complex and vivid past. Keay's authoritative history examines 5,000 years in China, from the time of the Three Dynasties through Chairman Mao and the current economic transformation of the country. Crisp, judicious, and engaging, China is the classic single-volume history for anyone seeking to understand the present and future of this immensely powerful nation. - Publisher
India: a history by
Call Number: DS 451 .K365 2010
Publication Date: 2011-04-12
Fully revised with forty thousand new words that take the reader up to present-day India, John Keay’s India: A History spans five millennia in a sweeping narrative that tells the story of the peoples of the subcontinent, from their ancient beginnings in the valley of the Indus to the events in the region today. In charting the evolution of the rich tapestry of cultures, religions, and peoples that comprise the modern nations of Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh, Keay weaves together insights from a variety of scholarly fields to create a rich historical narrative. Wide-ranging and authoritative, India: A History is a compelling epic portrait of one of the world’s oldest and most richly diverse civilizations. - Publisher
Afghanistan: a cultural and political history by
Call Number: DS 357.5 .37 2010
Publication Date: 2012-03-25
Traces the political history of Afghanistan from the sixteenth century to the present, looking at what has united the people as well as the regional, cultural, and political differences that divide them.
The Princes of the Mughal Empire, 1504-1719 by
Call Number: DS 461 .F37 2012
Publication Date: 2015-08-06
For more than 200 years, the Mughal emperors ruled supreme in northern India. How was it possible that a Muslim, ethnically Turkish, Persian-speaking dynasty established itself in the Indian subcontinent to become one of the largest and most dynamic empires on earth? In this rigorous new interpretation of the period, Munis D. Faruqui explores Mughal state formation through the pivotal role of the Mughal princes. In a challenge to previous scholarship, the book suggests that far from undermining the foundations of empire, the court intrigues and political backbiting that were features of Mughal political life - and that frequently resulted in rebellions and wars of succession - actually helped spread, deepen, and mobilize Mughal power through an empire-wide network of friends and allies. This engaging book, which trawls a vast archive of European and Persian sources, takes the reader from the founding of the empire under Babur to its decline in the 1700s. When the princely institution atrophied, so too did the Mughal Empire. - Publisher
A Short History of the Mughal Empire by
Call Number: DS 461 .F574 2016
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
The Mughal Empire dominated India politically, culturally, socially, economically and environmentally, from its foundation by Babur, a Central Asian adventurer, in 1526 to the final trial and exile of the last emperor Bahadur Shah Zafar at the hands of the British in 1858. Throughout the empire's three centuries of rise, preeminence and decline, it remained a dynamic and complex entity within and against which diverse peoples and interests conflicted. The empire's significance continues to be controversial among scholars and politicians with fresh and exciting new insights, theories and interpretations being put forward in recent years. This book engages students and general readers with a clear, lively and informed narrative of the core political events, the struggles and interactions of key individuals, groups and cultures, and of the contending historiographical arguments surrounding the Mughal Empire. - Publisher
Understanding Iran: everything you need to know, from Persia to the Islamic Republic, from Cyrus to Ahmadinejad by
Call Number: DS 272 .P65 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-27
A history of Iran that discusses how understanding the country's history, religion, culture, and politics, and the evolution of Persian culture in general, is crucial for the safety of the United States as the Middle Eastern country becomes a dominant economic power in its region.
Worlds at War : the 2,500-year struggle between east and west by
Call Number: CB 251 .P24 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-10
Traces the origins of the conflict between the East and West, exploring how tensions between the world's halves have evolved and changed over the last 2,500 years and highlighting crucial events and battles that have shaped the conflict.
Why the West Rules - For Now : the patterns of history, and what they reveal about the future by
Call Number: CB 251 .M68 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
Describes the patterns of human history in an effort to understand how the West attained global supremacy, examines the link between geography and power, and looks at what the future may hold.
Shadows in the Desert: Ancient Persia at War by
Call Number: DS 273.3 .F37 2007
Publication Date: 2009-03-24
The empires of ancient Persia remain as mysterious today as they were to contemporary Western scholars. Although Alexander the Great's conquest of Persia is legendary, the military successes of the Achaemenid, Parthian, and Sassanian empires, along with their revolutionary military technology, tactics, and culture have been almost forgotten in the sands of the East. Containing information never before published in English, Shadows in the Desert offers a comprehensive history of Persia's wars with East and West which spanned over a millennium, and offers an insight into the exchange of ideas and culture that occurred during these clashes between East and West, not only military technology, but influences in the arts, medicine, religion and science. This beautifully illustrated book delves into the rich heritage of the Persians, which was spread around the world through war and conquest, and which, after the fall of the Sassanians, continued to impact upon civilizations around the world. - Publisher
The Stolen Prince: Gannibal, adopted son of Peter the Great, Great-Grandfather of Alexander Pushkin, and Europe's first black intellectual by
Call Number: DK130.G3 B37 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-30
Chronicles the life of Abram Petrovich Gannibal, the first black intellectual in Europe, discussing his slavery adoption by the tsar, education, and years as a soldier, diplomat, mathematician, and spy. - Publisher
The Enemy at the Gate : Habsburgs, Ottomans, and the battle for Europe by
Call Number: CB 251 .W44 2010
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
A military history of the Ottoman empire and the Habsburg dynasty, and their centuries-long rivalry for control of Europe that culminated in the infamous siege of Vienna in 1683.
Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World by
Call Number: DS 22 .G45 W43 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-22
Explores the role Genghis Khan and his descendants played in the development of the modern world, discussing his revolutionary military strategies and weaponry, his efforts to conquer the surrounding lands, and his innovative leadership abilities.
Free Archives and Databases
African American Registry
The most comprehensive on-line database resource of African American heritage in the world.
American Memory Project of the Library of Congress
Tool that allows you to easily browse LoC collections of American history and culture.
The Avalon Project of Yale University
The Avalon Project contains a large collection of primary sources focused on the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Organized by historical era, the collections contains documents from 250 B.C. to present times.
The Bancroft Library at UC Berkeley
The primary special collections library at UC Berkeley, the Bancroft Library has a number of themed digital collections, each containing manuscripts, rare books, or images (primary sources).
Collections Search Center at the Smithsonian Institute
Collection of primary source documents and images spanning the fields of art, history, technology, and more.
DOCSTeach - The online tool for teaching from the National Archives
Contains thousands of primary sources for use in classroom activities courtesy of the National Archives.
Documenting the American South at UNC Chapel Hill
A wonderful resource for finding primary sources relating to southern history and heritage. The collection is made available through the UNC Chapel Hill Library. (One of Mr. Reese's favorite collections)
Library of Congress Digital Collections
As the largest library in the world, the Library of Congress has a vast amount of digital resources, available to the public for free. A really easy to use database, this is the first place you should go when doing research.
Life Magazine Photo Archive
Hosted by Google, this collection of images from Life Magazine contains thousands of photographs, ranging from 1861-1979. Contains images of historical events, famous people, and more, all of which clearly state the source of the image.
National Archives - Home Page
The National Archives contains an astounding number of resources, many of which contain primary sources. While content-rich, the website is easy to navigate and use.
National Archives-World War I Collection
Large collection of American World War I records/primary sources.
National Archives-World War II Collection
Large collection of American World War II records/primary sources.
National Security Archives at George Washington University
Contains declassified government documents that have been digitized by the GW librarians.
National World War II Museum
Archive with WWII resources.
National World War I Museum
Archive with WWI resources.
The New York Public Library Archives & Manuscripts
Large collection of resources for many subject areas.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Contains information on almost 36,000 slaving voyages. The site is made up of 3 databases: the voyages database, examining estimates of the slave trade and the African names database. Many universities, including Emory and Harvard, sponsor the site.
Use these guides to help navigate resources for the first time.
Complete list of Prep's Databases